Wholesale Changes To Simba XV Side To Face SWD Eagles

Head coach Jerome Paarwater made a total of 10 changes to the side that made a dream start to the Vodacom cup, ahead of their second assignment against the South Western Districts Eagles. 9 new faces will step up to the plate with one positional change, Muhanji moving from 11 to 13.

These whole sum changes clearly show our intention in this tournament, in case it was ever in doubt. To prepare adequately for the world cup qualifiers by exposing as many players to this level of competition as is possible.

Edwin Achayo in action against the Kings (Photo - Daudi Were)

Edwin Achayo in action against the Kings (Photo – Daudi Were)

The Tusker Simba XVs side only retains captain Wilson Kopondo, Michael Okombe, Joshua Chisanga, Leonard Mugaisi, Dennis Muhanji and Isaac Adimo in the starting line up. Curtis Lilako, Edward Aseko and Duncan Mwangi Mwangi come into the new look front row. Veteran Tony Mutai partners Quins club mate Wilson Kopondo at lock with Chenge the only new face in the back row.

Asiligwa and Agero form a new half back partnership, with the sevens main stay getting the nod at number 10. Austine Gumo earns his full debut and partners Muhanji in mid field, with Mukidza is the only change to the back three.

An equally impressive starting fifteen with a slightly more experienced forward line but a really young back line. Lilako and Mwangi are renowned scrummagers and their partnership should give a better showing than the Kangethes.

Oseko should give an equal work rate as Adaka and this being his natural position he should give a strong display. Mutai adds a load of experience at lock compared to Mangeni , Chenge though younger than Nyikuli should bring in an extra punch.

The duo of Asiligwa and Agero looks like a more creative pairing than the more tactical Achayo-Andola axis. Agero would more often than not play with ball in hand and split open the defence. Gumo is a bigger boy than Baraza and will benefit from Agero’s vision alongside Muhanji’s experience.

The back three sees the retention on Adimo meaning Jerome will look again to play in the right areas of the pitch. Mukidza and Mugaisi on either side gives him great options for the counter attack, Mukidza like Mugaisi has an eye for the line and the wheels to get him there faster than most.

Amusala, Adaka, Achayo, Andola and Olando will be on hand on the bench in case of anything with Emmanuel Mavala and Martin Owilla up for their maiden appearance for the fifteens side.

Last week the SWD Eagles lost narrowly in their opening fixture against The Toyota Free State XV, in a match that many had written them off at the half time break. The Eagles found themselves trailing 29-10 in the first half before going into the break trailing 32-22.

They found themselves further back after the opening stages of the second half at 42-27 before crawling back to within 5 points at the final whistle with the score reading 52-47. This clearly shows that this Eagles side does not easily bulge and will keep going through out the eighty minutes.

Last year the Eagles were 6th at the end of the Southern Conference fixtures after winning only one match in seven. They have made several changes to their side but retained most of the players that started last weekend most notably Karlo Aspeling at fly half who was instrumental for them.

It will be up to this second group to pick up from where the first left off, another win here is quite possible but as Jerome warned, the side and indeed us the fans should not get carried away.

The 3:30 pm kick off match at the City Park stadium will not be aired on TV, which means another 80 minutes of refreshing our Twitter and Facebook timelines. Follow @osbke and like Odd Shaped Balls Kenya for live updates of this match.

Here are the two line ups :


15. Deroy Rhoode, 14. Henzill Pedro, 13. Daniel Roberts, 12. Martin Du Toit, 11. Duwayne Smart, 10. Karlo Aspeling, 9.Danie Faasen, 8. Junior Bester, 7. Janneman Stander, 6. Shaun Raubenheimer, 5. Mzwanele Zito, 4. Schalk Oelofse, 3. Ashley Buys, 2. Hannes Franklin, 1. Grant Kemp (C)
16. Wayne Khan, 17. Quinton Petzer, 18. Grant Le Roux, 19. Christo Du Plessis, 20. Mzo Dyanyi, 21. Lionel Cornelius, 22. Anver Venter

Tusker Simba XV

15. Isaac Adimo, 14. Leonard Mugaisi, 13.Dennis Muhanji, 12.Austine Gumo, 11.Darwin Mukidza, 10.Eden Agero, 9. Lyle Asiligwa, 8.Joshua Chisanga, 7.Davis Chenge, 6.Michael Okombe, 5.Anthony Mutai, 4.Wilson Kopondo (Captain), 3.Duncan Mwangi, 2.Edward Oseko, 1. Curtis Lilako

16. Maxwell Adaka, 17.Moses Amusala, 18.Emmanuel Mavala, 19.Martin Owila, 20. Edwin Achayo, 21.Kenny Andola, 22.Fabian Olando

KWISHA…Nimeruka Nje!!!

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *